Teen Training
 
Teen Driver Information

INTEGRITY  

ETHICS  

RELIABILITY

PRIDE 

Teenage Driver Education Program Includes: Course fee= Call

  • 30-Hour Classroom Training
  • 8-Hour(BTW) Behind-the-Wheel Training
  • Driver Exam(OST)On-Site- Testing

30-Hour classroom Training: Students are eligible to enroll for classes on their sixteenth birthday. A total of 15 class sessions (includes 8-hour mandatory safety course) is necessary to complete the course. The classroom training will help students identify, evaluate and consider how to avoid risk and manage time, space, and visibility to better anticipate the actions of other roadway users. (Gift certificates are available)

.

8-Hour BTW: In addition to the comprehensive class sessions, our program offers the student 8-hours of private road instruction. Once a student has their permit, road sessions may be scheduled. A mutual time for both the student and instructor is easily arranged. Our state certified instructors teach students all the necessary skills for safe driving as well as risk avoidance, parking, city and highway driving and preparing for the DMV test.

NOTE: As of August 1, 2008 only DMV offices can issue learner's permits to teens age 16 and 17 year olds. NOW Teens can schedule learner permit ONLINE. For more information refer to their website www.ct.gov/DMV. Due to Connecticut state law, all students must obtain a permit in order to start BTW training. Permits can also be obtained at your nearest DMV office: Remember to bring a birth certificate, social security card, wallet size picture and address verification (post marked no more than 90 days old ) to the DMV. The student must successfully answer 20 out of 25 questions correctly in order to pass. Students who complete a driver education course must hold a permit for a duration of four months before applying for a drivers license. If a student chooses home training; he or she must hold a permit for six months.

8-hour Safety Course: Connecticut state law requires new teen drivers to take the Safety Course before applying for a driver license this includes the 2 hour teen/parent class. The students will learn the hazards of drinking/driving and substance abuse as well as helping the new driver learn defensive driving skills. Home-trained students are welcomed. Call your nearest location for a current schedule.

Driver Exam / On-Site- Testing Services: Frank's Driving School will arrange a day and time for your test. Driver exam will take place at our school. Test vehicles will be provided at test time. (Call for more details about test dates).

Insurance Discounts -Frank's Driving School will issue a certificate of completion when the student completes the course. Most insurance companies will accept this certificate and offer a discount to parents with a new teen driver. Usually a 10% -20% discount may be given on a yearly policy and will apply until a student reaches the age of 25. Also ask your agent about "good grade discount".

Mandatory New Suspensions for 16- and 17- Year - Old Drivers
The following table explains the new suspension violation for 16- and 17- year old drivers, effective August 1, 2008. DMV will suspend the driver's license of a 16- or 17- year old for any conviction of violating a teen driving restriction, speeding, reckless driving, street racing or using a cell phone or text messaging device while driving.
VIOLATION
1ST OFFENSE
2ND OFFENSE
3RD OFFENSE
Graduated Driver's License(GDL) violations under~14-36g(a) including: Passenger restrictions; Driving curfew; Operating public service vehicle or vanpool; More passengers than seat belts; Carrying passengers on a motorcycle less then six months after obtaining a motorcycle endorsement; 30-Day Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines. (For all 2nd and subsequent offenses) 6- Month Suspension or until age 18, whichever is longer $125 license restoration fee, court fines.  

USE OF CELL PHONES / TEXT MESSAGING

~14-296aa

30-Day Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines.

90-Day Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines. 6 - Month Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines.

SPEEDING

(20 mph over speed limit) ~ 14-219

60-Day Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines. 90-Day Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines. 6 - Month Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines.

RECKLESS DRIVING

~ 14-222(a)

6 - Month Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines or imprisonment of not more than 30 days, or both.

1-Year Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.

1-Year Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.

STREET RACING

~ 14-224(c)

6 - Month Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both. 1-Year Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.

1-Year Suspension $125 license restoration fee, court fines or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.

 

This web site was created by: Online Design LLC